Reader mode

Top 10 Best Players Who Never Won The Champions League

News Hub Creator 1d

View pictures in App save up to 80% data. The Ultimate prize in European club football "UEFA Champions League " is the dream of every player to win the prestigious trophy. Many of football greatest players have been able to achieve that honour. Surprisingly, some players who has seen it all and are loved by many don't have the honour of this prestigious trophy in their collection. Check out the list

1. Ronaldo Luis Nazario De Lima

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Ronaldo de Lima popularly known as "The Phenomeno" despite his great achievements in football history couldn't win the UEFA Champions League trophy. The three times ballon D'Or winner, twice named as best player at the FIFA world cup 1997,2002 among several individual award he scoop during his days made him one of the best players of all time. He played for several clubs who have won this cup like Real Madrid, PSV ,Barcelona, Inter Milan, Ac Milan. He scored 414 goals in 612 games as a player and won 17 trophies in total.

2. Roberto Baggio

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Roberto Baggio who was hailed as the darling boy of Italian soccer is one the greatest players of this century. He played for clubs like Juventus, AC Milan, Inter Milan, Fiorentina and others. The 1993 Ballon D'Or and Fifa Best player winner couldn't also win the prestigious trophy. He is mostly remembered by his famous plenty miss against Brazil in US 1994 fifa world cup.

3. Zlatan Ibrahimovic

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

The Swedish International Zlatan Ibrahimovic also couldn't win the prestigious trophy despite his great talent and achievement. He is the only player to play in all top five European league and win it. From his Ajax days to LA galaxy in the MLS, he has exhibited his goal scoring prowess and great strength in the box as a prolific attacker. He is hailed as the Lion for his great Strength and Character on the field.

4. Fabio Cannavaro

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Fabio Cannavaro is considered as one of the best defenders the world has ever seen. The 2006 Ballom D'Or winner did not also win the Champions League. He lead the Azzuri of Italy to the their 4th World Cup Success at Germany in 2006. He was noted among the golden squad of FC Parma where he played along side Seedorf , Harran Crespo, Nesta and other great players. He moved to Real Madrid hoping to win the prestigious trophy but to avail.

5. Francesco Totti

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Francesco Totti ,one of the most prolific attacker in football history played for only one club AS Roma. For his great loyalty to the club saw him win most domestic titles like the Scudetto 2001 with AS Roma. He help Italy to win the 2006 fifa world cup at Germany.

6. Gianluigi Buffon

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

The veteran goalkeeper is among the greatest goalkeepers of all time. His transfer was a the biggest as goalkeeper in the year 2001. He has gone closed twice as a player to the UEFA Champions League finals in 2014 and 2017 both won by Spanish clubs FC Barcelona and Real Madrid. He moved to PSG to relaunch his career but returned to his mother club Juventus hoping Mr. Champions League Cristiano Ronaldo will do him the honour bringing the prestigious trophy home to Turin.

7.Micheal Ballack

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Micheal Ballack is one the most unlucky players in history of football as he missed the prestigious trophy twice as Buffon in 2002 and 2008 against Real Madrid and Manchester United respectively. He lost the UEFA Euro 2008 against Spain of which Germany was tip favourites to win. He won domestic titles with both Bayern Munich, Bayer Leverkusen and Chelsea.

8. Ruud Van Nistelrooy

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Ruud Van Nistelrooy is one of the top scorers in the UEFA Champions League with 56 goals. He enjoyed success with Manchester United in 2003 where he won the premier league trophy and top scorer as well. He was named Premier league player of the year for the 2003 season and later join the Spanish giants Real Madrid. He played 150 games and scored goals in the Premier league.

9. Eric Cantona

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

The French super star who made the number 7 shirt of Manchester United a burden to wear after his retirement never won the Champions League. He retired before Sir Alex Ferguson led Man Utd to the memorable victory at Camp Nou 1999 against Bayern Munich. He scored 70 goals in 156 appearances for United and won 4 league titles with them.

10. Gabriel Batistuata

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Batigol or El Angel Gabriel as many called him is one the finest attackers in football history. He spent his playing days at AS Roma, Fiorentina among others. He won the Copa America twice in 1991 and 1993 respectively. He added the FIFA Confederation Cup to his collection in 1992.

If you have the chance to honour any of these players with the UEFA Champions League trophy. Who will it be ? Let me get your favourite player on the list.

Source: opera.com
The views expressed in this article are the writer's, they do not reflect the views of Opera News. Read more>>
Top Comments
WaldenJnr · 05/28/2020
Ronaldo Luis Nazario

Less Data,More News — Less than 1MB