Reader mode

Burna Boy, Rema, Omah Lay to Face Off In 2020 Galaxy Music Awards (FULL LIST of Nominees) 10/27/2020

View pictures in App save up to 80% data.

Photo: Galaxy Music Awards/Facebook

The Galaxy Music Awards (GMA) has announced nominees for the 2020 award show. This year’s show will award artists from the entire South East and the South South States of Nigeria.

Nominees for various categories were announced on October 26 following a faculty session by the GMA faculty of curators as well as audience nominations.

This year’s awards will see interesting battles in various categories with several top Naija artists battling it out. One of the interesting category in the Song of the Year in which Omah Lay’s ‘Bad Influence’ has been nominated alongside Patoranking’s ‘Abule’, Rema’s ‘Ginger Me’, the trending ‘Barawo’ by Ajebo Hustlers and ‘Shekere’ by Yemi Alade featuring Angelique Kidjo.

Omah Lay, Rema, Ajebo Hustlers and Burna Boy will also be facing off as their songs ‘Lolo’, ‘Ginger Me’, ‘Barawo’ and ‘Odugwu’ have been nominated for the Best Pop Single category.

Mercy Chinwo, Judi Kay, GUC and Chioma Jesus face off for the Gospel artist of the Year category while Burna Boy’s ‘Twice as Tall’ album and Omah Lay’s ‘Get Layd’ EP will be going head-to-head for the Album/EP of the Year.

Voting kicks off on October 30 and winners will be announced in a gala night scheduled for December 6.

Below is the full list of nominees in various categories:

Next Rated – Most Promising Act
Guchi, U.C Flames, Cave Men, Chimy, Hotice Exclusive, Acharaman and Elemxy

Best Vocal Performer Live (Female)
Blessing Tangban (Tebe Tebe)), J’Dess (Chi Efo), Chidinma (40 years), Clay (Destiny), Bee Bee Bassey (Incredible God) and Judy Kay (Man of Galilee)

Lyricist on the Roll
Errigga (Welcome to Warri), Illbliss (Generations), Young 6ix (Trapfro), Mr Raw (Odogwu aburo Guy Name), Dr Barz, Kaptain (Gbese) and Dan Dizzy (Woskey)

Best Alternative Song
Blessing Tangban (Tebe Tebe), Cave Men (Oge), Chike (Roju), Clay (Destiny), Johnny Drille (Something New) and Enzo ft George Siki (Good Vibes).

Song of the Year
Omah Lay – Bad Influence, Chike – Nakupenda, Patoranking – Abule, Rema – Ginger Me, Ajebo Hustlers – Barawo and Yemi Alade – Shekere

Rookie of the Year
Lowkiz, Redmagic, Ranziz, Yoboi, Tjay, Da Onums, Citi Boi and Okezzy

Best Pop Single
Rema – Ginger Me, Ajebo Hustlers – Barawo, Omah Lay – Lolo, Burna Boy – Odugwu, F2 – Otitto and Idahams – Shima

Best Rap Single
Illibliss – Generations, Phyno – God’s Willing, Mr Raw – Odugwu Aburo Guy Name, Erriga – Welcome to Warri, Dandizzy – Woskey and Kaptain – Gbese Gbese

Best Vocal Performer – Male
Chike – Roju, Johnny Drille – Something Better, Ogranya – Serenade, George Siki - Turn Me On, Legendry Suni – Jumai and Ric Hassani – Do Like Say

Gospel Artiste of the Year
Mercy Chinwo – Akamdinelu, Judi Kay – Man of Galilee, GUC - All That Matters, Ada Ehi – Settled, Chioma Jesus – Okemmuo and Prinx Emmanuel – God No Go Shame Us

Artist of the Year
Burna Boy, Erriga, Mercy Chinwo, Yemi Alade, Chike, Rema, Omah Lay and Ajebo Hustlers.

Best Street Track
Victor AD – Too Much Money, Erriga – Welcome to Warri, Ajebo Hustlers – Barawo, Patoranking – Abule, Burna Boy – Wetin Dey Sub and Kaptain – Gbese Gbese

Album/EP of the Year
Chike – Boo of the Booless, Burna Boy – Twice As Tall, Erigga – Enigma 2, Judi Kay – Man of Galilee, Idahams – Man of Fire, Omah Lay – Get Layd and Cave Men’s Roots

Best Collaboration
Chike – Nakupenda ft Ric Hassani, DJ Joenel – Armageddon ft Dr Barz, Dandizzy, Ajebo Hustlers, DJ Neptune – Nobody ft Mr Eazi, Joeboy, Yemi Alade – Shekere ft Angelic Kidjo, Rema – Beamer ft Rvssian and Chidinma – 40 years ft Flavour.

The views expressed in this article are the writer's, they do not reflect the views of Opera News. Read more>>

Less Data,More News — Less than 1MB